A Polite Dragon? A moral gone wrong

Dragon

Dragon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I should have known better.

I thought I’d write a story with a kind of moral in it. The moral was supposed to be the kind of thing I’d want to teach my kids, and you’d want me to teach yours.

I should have known better.

You see, something in my nature would not allow the moral to come out right. I wanted this story to be about politeness. So I picked–what else?–a ferocious and mean creature, a dragon.

I patiently explained to my reader that the dragon was polite. He only fried knights errant after securing their permission.

Well, this wasn’t exactly right, and I knew it, so I sent my dragon onto a hillside, where he has a chat with an owl. But the owl is, of course, terrified of him.

After that, he gets into an altercation with a worm. The worm is haughty and claims to own the world. And the dragon realizes he’s not such a bad fellow after all.

Going home, he has a chat with his brother, also a dragon. They are polite to each other. Then they go off and hunt some antelope.

This was supposed to be my morality tale.

I should have known better.

I then promptly sent it off to a publication that likes morality tales for children. They want to teach them good values. And I waited around, supposing this was going to be an easy sell.

I should have known better.

Today I got the rejection letter and it suddenly dawned on me. My little sneaky devilish conniving artistic instinct had sabotaged this whole brilliant plan! You fiend! This was supposed to be a morality tale! And you let me send it off and everything!

I should have known …

2 thoughts on “A Polite Dragon? A moral gone wrong

Leave a Reply

