Bad Science Fiction Films: Exit (2012)

This film is probably not really a science fiction film. It’s a parable that, apparently, made sense to somebody. Or did it?

Sometimes when I’m writing a story I realize that I don’t have an ending that makes sense even to me as the writer. My solution to this dilemma is to put the manuscript aside, sometimes for a very long time. On my better days I leave it there until something comes up, which may be never. And then I run it by someone to see if it makes sense to them.

Apparently the film-makers of Exit did not have this option. Or chose not to exercise it. I sincerely wish they had.

The film features artistic camera angles, nameless characters with zero background or context, cluttered urban scenes, one creepo, and what looks like a give-the-finger-to-corporations ending. (Or is it the audience that’s getting the finger here?)

Its title, “Exit,” is apparently a metaphor for what you’re doing while watching this film. Which is looking for the exit. I took the short route out twice by clicking “pause” after 20 minutes and going to bed for the night. Why I clicked play again the next night was no credit to this film, but rather a symptom of my own morbid fascination with films that attempt profundity. I have found one or two that succeeded in the attempt. These, like some kind of narcotic, have left me injured and tainted, of little good to humanity.

This film, far from profound, is so abstruse and cryptic, it could be about anything from drug use to mental pathology, marriage, life, college, or corporate bliss. Or maybe the film’s writer-directors didn’t know what the hell it was supposed to be about either. Maybe the creepo in the film is the writer. In fact I think it is. The creepo is (or claims to be) a puppet-master. And all the people looking for the exit are his little minions. What’s in it for him, aside from some sadistic pseudo-erotic pleasure …

Okay, so this is my opinion of the writers of this film. You see what pseudo-produndity does to the viewer’s perception of you. But this time I’m probably right.

If that makes sense to you and you’re still intrigued, go for it. For me, if I’d been in a theater watching this, I would have been begging for talkers and cell-phone users behind me just to break up the tedium.

Check out my first post in this series here: “Love” (2011).

 

Leave a Reply

